The Music Of Video Games

Who doesn’t like Video Game Music? I know I do, which is why I’m doing this article. This is actually a follow up to one of my articles from Retro Gaming Is Best, called The Music Of Classic Gaming. With this article, however, I didn’t want to limit it to just retro games. Just like last time, don’t expect long, detailed reviews of each song. Instead, I’ll just comment on why I like the song. So, without further ado, let’s begin.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PIRgfYYzgm8?rel=0&w=420&h=315

Like I said, I wasn’t just limiting to classic video games. Okay, I know Dead Ops Arcade is a retro inspired game, so maybe I spoke too soon. However Dead Ops Arcade is my favorite part of Black Ops (and COD in general) and the music is no exception, with a great 8-Bit soundtrack, and this song is the best of the bunch. Listen to the epicness at 0:22, or the Tetris-esque ending.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LDvKwSVuUGA?rel=0&w=420&h=315

I knew I had to put a song in from the Donkey Kong Country series in here, and this song is amazing. Ambience is right, as this is one of the most atmospheric and ambient songs in video game history. This song gives you a feeling of peacefulness and serenity and it makes you want to explore the level as you listen to the music.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XDX4ZwUeOok?rel=0&w=420&h=315

Okay, let’s not kid ourselves here; the Zelda series has, without a doubt, the best music of any video game franchise, and Majora’s Mask has one of the best of the bunch. The Song Of Healing is absolutely beautiful and never fails to tug at my heartstrings. It is also very emotional, as you must play the song to several characters as they are dying to soothe their souls and collect them in masks. Now that’s dark!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NMeYLw3coGA?rel=0&w=420&h=315

You know, Wario’s Woods is an underrated game that never seems to get the attention it truly deserves, which is a damn shame, because this game is insanely fun. I’d go so far as to call it the greatest puzzle game of all time. The soundtrack is also great, especially this song. I love how incredibly upbeat and catchy it is.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ts7XX8hJiws?rel=0&w=420&h=315

Whoa, another Rare game on this list! What’s up with that? Perhaps it’s a reminder of how good they used to be. Banjo-Kazooie was yet another game in a long line of amazing Rare titles. This song is probably my favorite song in the game due to it’s cheeriness and catchiness. It also probably inspired the DK Isle theme from Donkey Kong 64.

Well, there you have it. More great music from great video games. Now that I’m done with this article, I can work more on something that I believe you’ll all love. What is it, you ask? You’ll just have to wait to find out. In the mean time, check out my other articles. Thank you for reading. Peace out.

About Mr. Awesome

Hey everyone, I'm Mr. Awesome.

2 thoughts on “The Music Of Video Games

  1. mattgraal says:

    Who doesn’t like video game music? I do..? Wait, what?!? You don’t like video game music? I am confused..

  2. loganruckman says:

    I’m saying I do like video game music.

Leave a Reply

