2000s Nostalgia… Already?

I know, right now you’re probably thinking that I must be out of my mind to do a 2000s nostalgia article, but dammit, I’m doing it! Now, this won’t be a super long article, just a short post. Yes, I know it’s only 2013 and that the 2000s ended just three short years ago, but I feel that 2000s nostalgia is just starting to begin. Yes, right now, ’80s and ’90s nostalgia are hot (and they probably will be as long people from the ’80s and ’90s continue to live, because they were awesome decades), but I believe that by the end of the decade (and probably much sooner than that), 2000s nostalgia will be just as hot. If you think about it, the kids who grew up in the 2000s (and late ’90s) are now becoming teenagers and adults. Hell, I’m 19, and I was a kid in the 2000s. You have to remember, I was only born in 1993, so I really only remember the mid- late ’90s. My earliest memory is from 1996. I remember the 2000s, very well, however. And if you remember correctly, as I do, the early-mid 2000s were very, very different than they are now, from a cultural standpoint. There were no such things as smart phones or iPads. Nickelodeon and Cartoon Network were way better than they are now. Most people still had box TVs. People argued over whether the PS2, Xbox, or Gamecube was better. Motion controls weren’t popular until 2006. Disney still made a lot of animated movies without Pixar or Studio Ghibli being attached to them. Many things were different, and I miss a lot of the stuff from the early-mid 2000s. So yes, 2000s nostalgia is starting, and I couldn’t be happier.

About Mr. Awesome

Hey everyone, I'm Mr. Awesome.

Leave a Reply

