BioShock Review

This review is back from February, and I don’t really like editing my original reviews, but here!

Well, I started BioShock a month and a half ago, after making it partway through Neptune’s Bounty I decided to quit since I didn’t understand what was going on at all, but my brother asked me this “Would you kindly just play the game?”, and that managed to work like it always does. 😛 I just beat it right before writing this review, and man, it was a fantastic game.

Story

This is a very strong part of BioShock. After a plane crash, Jack ends up going into an undersea city known as Rapture, and makes connections with Atlas. Atlas wants Jack to go and stop Andrew Ryan, but he doesn’t know why, but after you get to a certain part, there’s a huge twist in the story and I won’t say because it gives it away what makes this game so awesome. It’s a fantastic story and really sucks you in which makes it simply amazing.

Gameplay

Ho ho ho, this is probably the best part of the game. It’s a first person shooter, but there are plenty of enemies and each one takes a healthy amount of video game skill to take down. The Big Daddies can give you some of the most intense battles in any video game ever! You get Plasmids which are like magic powers you could say, and you get a bunch of guns and sorts. The atmosphere and environments are extremely creepy and dark. One part, I was standing in front of a desk with a light on it, saw a shadow behind me, turned around and a splicer started talking to me. Other part where enemies jump up can get you, one of them got me where I actually let out a little scream. This game keeps you on your toes and has you being very cautious to see what comes next. Some of the best gameplay in a shooter anyone will ever play.

Graphics

For 2007, the graphics are downright amazing. It looks as realistic as it can be, but you are thrown into dark environments, and to look out of Rapture and see the ocean it all looks very good. The graphics still hold up to this day in my own opinion.

Music

It’s hard for me to rate the music, but there are some good creepy tunes that play here and there. It’s mainly to engage you in the atmosphere more, but I’d say if I was able to rate the music, it would be probably high.

It’s a reasonably long game. The campaign can be anywhere from 12-16 hours, but getting every achievement, little sister, and everything else can take you quite a bit more.

This game I would say isn’t for anyone. I’ve looked online and seen people complain that they can make it part way through and quit, but if you are really into these types of games and games with great stories, then it’s easy to pick up and play. It’s a very fun game too once you really get going.

Overall, this is one of the greatest games of all time for sure. It may not start off the best, but once you get halfway through the game gets so much better, and it just fascinates you every chance it gets.

Pros:
+Creepy atmosphere
+Very good graphics that compare to today’s standards
+Very addicting gameplay that is unique
+Incredible, epic story

Cons:
-Can be hard to pick up
-Slow start

Story: 9.0/10
Gameplay: 9.0/10
Graphics: 9.3/10
Music: N/A
Lifetime: 8.9/10
Replayability: 9.4/10
Overall: 9.8/10

Leave a Reply

