Happy Birthday Happy Katana!

According to a notification I received from WordPress, Happy Katana turned 3 years old on the 23rd of June, which is strange because I could have sworn the 3rd anniversary wasn’t until August 10th. In any case, I’m extremely happy that we reached this milestone. I must apologize in advance because I didn’t have anything planned for Happy Katana’s 3rd birthday, and even if I did, I wasn’t expecting it until August 10th. However, I will take the time to reminisce about Happy Katana.

It all started three years ago (obviously). The original domain name was loganruckman.wordpress.com and the original name of the site was The Greatest Blog Of All Time (very original, I know). On August 10th, the first ever post on Happy Katana was published. What was this legendary first post, you ask? This post, of course: https://happykatana.wordpress.com/2010/08/10/welcome-to-my-blog/ Yes, of course it was a “Welcome To The Blog” kind of post, and it contained one sentence that stated “Yeah, I know it sucks now, but it will get better.” Those 11 words were the beginning of what was to eventually become Happy Katana. Yeah, not exactly what you would call a strong start. However, little did I know how amazingly prophetic those words would be. That same day, I had a post called “Things That Piss Me Off In Video Games.” This is said post: https://happykatana.wordpress.com/2010/08/10/37/ Again, it wasn’t anything all that great or anything, but at least it’s better than “Yeah, I know it sucks now, but it will get better.”

To tell you the truth, I’m surprised that I’m still writing on this website. You see, my website history actually goes all the way back to 2008, when I created my first ever website on Freewebs (now just called Webs). It was terrible. And you know what? It no longer exists, because I deleted it. In fact, I’ve had a shit ton of websites over the years which I’ve either deleted or abandoned. As you can see, I have a history of giving up on websites, including this one for almost a year. In fact, the only other websites I have that have any content on them whatsoever are these ones: http://hardcoregamer4ever.wetpaint.com/ and http://allgamers.forumotion.com/ Of course, I gave up on those ones too (though I may try to revive All Gamers). This website almost suffered the same fate. You see, I decided I wanted to create a retro gaming blog called Retro Gaming Is Best, also on WordPress. However, unlike every other website I ever worked on, I was actually proud of this one. I truly thought this was going to be the website that I stuck with, and I did, for three months at least. This was also the first website where JEW helped me design a header. Unfortunately, I can’t find it anywhere, as the image has been deleted. Anyways, I wanted to create a website that was more than just retro gaming. I created yet another website on Webs.com called Pop Culture Heaven. I moved all the RGIB articles to PCH and deleted RGIB. However, yet again, I abandoned the website I was building.

In June of 2011, I decided to come back to this website. My first post upon coming back: https://happykatana.wordpress.com/2011/06/13/i-wish-dinosaurs-were-still-around/ Yes, it’s kind of silly and stupid, but it proved I was willing to continue working on a website. In August of the same year, I decided to delete Pop Culture Heaven after only writing a shitty review of Yoshi’s Island and eight months of inactivity and I imported all the RGIB articles on the then Greatest Blog Of All Time. I continued posting stuff on the site. To tell you the truth, it wasn’t all that great. While it wasn’t horrible, it wasn’t particularly all that good, either. Unfortunately, After a post in October about my birthday, I got lazy and didn’t write for a while. Then, in February of 2012, 4 months after said birthday post, something horrible happened: my dad’s computer finally shit the bed, after 8 years of being a faithful computer. I tried getting on the school’s computers, but the school’s stupid firewall prevented me from getting on. So, for 10 long months, I was unable to work on my blog.

Flash forward to December. A year and two months after my last post, I was finally able to come back. And I did. And this is my first post upon coming back for the site: https://happykatana.wordpress.com/2012/12/06/im-back/ Again, it’s nothing spectacular, but at least I was willing to come back and work on my blog. My first official article upon coming back was a review of Spirited Away: https://happykatana.wordpress.com/2012/12/08/spirited-away-review/ Finally, I had a great article on my blog. And this would continue for months, all the way until now. In January, I created a Facebook page for my site (which is on the left of the page but I’m going to post here anyways): https://www.facebook.com/pages/Happy-Katana/586458884702441?fref=ts That way you can get updates and shit.

March was probably the biggest month for Happy Katana. No, it wasn’t the month with the most views or anything, but two very important things happened that month. For one, that was the month we got three new writers. Yes, March is when Brendan, Matt, and Ashley joined, and I am very thankful they did. I honestly believe the quality of the website has greatly benefitted from them joining. Can you guess what else happened that month? That’s right! That’s the month the site officially became Happy Katana. You see, I found another blog by the name of The Greatest Blog Of All Time, and even though my blog was around about a year before theirs, theirs was more popular. You know how that works. I didn’t want anyone saying we stole their name or anything. I also changed the domain name. You see, the old domain name was just my name, loganruckman.wordpress.com. However, since we now had new writers, I didn’t think it was fair to just have my name in the domain. So I knew I had to change it. I wanted something that sounded cool and unique. Suddenly, the name Happy Katana came to me. Don’t ask me why, it must have been destiny. So Happy Katana it was.

In April, JEW designed a header for Happy Katana. As you can see, it looks amazing. Finally, we had another important event in June. You see, June was by far the most successful month for Happy Katana, at least in terms of views. Happy Katana got a whopping (at least for this site) 1022 views in the month, with 95 on the 10th alone, the best ever for the site. Now, HK has 2812 views overall. Not bad for a website that started the year with only 469 views after two and a half years.

As you can see, Happy Katana has had an incredible journey. It’s had it’s ups and downs, and at times it appeared that it would just be another non special blog with no views. Yet, it somehow escaped that fate. It became special, and it has improved massively since the computer shit the bed. I think this is a special occasion, a celebration of a website that almost didn’t make it, a website that went from being an okay blog into what I believe is a great pop culture website (and maybe some other things in the future). So, happy late birthday Happy Katana! You changed my life.

P.S. Like I said, this was so sudden and I didn’t have anything planned. I apologize for not having any fancy articles for the third anniversary of Happy Katana. I promise I’ll have something for Happy Katana’s fifth birthday.

About Mr. Awesome

Hey everyone, I'm Mr. Awesome.

Leave a Reply

