Thoughts On The Princess Twilight Sparkle Episodes (MLP:FiM Season Four)

Well, Happy Katana fans, My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic has  done it again. It never fails to bring us one of the highest quality cartoons that has graced television in the last several years, and after watching the two-part season four opening, my wildest expectations have been more than achieved. I know that a lot of Bronies were torn about season four, mainly because season three was comparably weaker than the first two. The exception of course, is Magic Mystery Cure, which is still my favorite episode in this series. But yeah, I’ve beaten this horse to death (oh god, why? Bad Ashley.) more times than I can count on this blog, so, here’s hoping this is the last time I will have to mention how much I love the season three finale, though that’s wishful thinking right there. Anyway, ever since Twilight Sparkle became an Alicorn Princess, the fandom has been divided on how FiM would handle that plot device (even though, in my opinion, the movie Equestria Girls proved that Twilight’s a character wasn’t going to change in the least), and you know what? They really fucking nailed it. As expected, the superb and ingenious writers on My Little Pony have made a powerful, fun, memorable, and awesome start to what I have high hopes will be an amazing season.

So, a plot summary. The episodes, entitled Princess Twilight Sparkle parts 1 and 2, start on the one-year anniversary of the birth of the Mane 6’s friendship. Twilight is still gaining the use of her wings, and has to aid Celestia and Luna in the Summer Sunset Celebration. However, as the event draws ever closer, the princesses vanish, leaving Twilight in charge of a panicked kingdom. She returns to Ponyville, where black briared branched (dat aliteration) from the Everfree Forest have overrun the city. The Man 6 instantly blame Discord, though he claims innocence. Zecora, fleeing the forest for her own safety, presents Twilight with a potion that causes her to relive three flashbacks: Luna’s transformation to Nightmare Moon and the following duel with Celestia that ultimately led to her banishment, Luna and Celestia’s fight with Discord, and finally, how the Elements of Harmony were discovered. Luna and Celestia originally found them in a tree called the Tree of Harmony. As they took them, Celestia mentioned that the tree didn’t need the Elements to survive, as it possessed it’s own magic to protect itself. Twilight deduces that the tree is in danger and they set off into the forest to find it. After a bit of drama and pep talk from Discord, they find the tree and Twilight realizes that the only way to save it is by surrendering the Elements of Harmony. Upon doing so, Celestia and Luna are freed from the briars imprisoning them, and the tree reveals a sealed case with six keyholes.

Holy God, talk about a huge plot twist in the series. Up until this point the Mane 6 have always relied on the Elements of Harmony to get them out of bad situations. The Elements defeated Discord twice, were now their only means to control him, defeated Nightmare Moon, Sunset Shimmer, and were a constant reminder of the strength of their friendship. Now, they’re going to have to face whatever challenges lie before them without the security of knowing that they have the possession of the most powerful artifacts in existence. That, my friends, is how you kick off a season. And what exactly is in this case Twilight received? What are the keys? What’s the point of it? God knows. It gives us a pleasant mystery to look forward to.

As usual, the writing was flawless. There was a fair mix of comic relief, Pinkie Pie being, well, Pinkie Pie, emotional moments, drama, angst, tension, and a satisfying ending. I really can’t complain; season four has become my second favorite premier arc, second only to The Return of Harmony, and by far superior to Friendship is Magic and The Crystal Empire. Any and all fears that Twilight would fall out-of-character and become some kind of Mary Sue gimmick just to make Hasbro more money I can say, without a doubt, have been proven dead wrong. She’s still the same worrisome, OCD, organized candy-colored Unicorn (erm, Alicorn), that we’ve all known and loved since episode one. I didn’t expect anything different from FiM.

Now, I’m going to enter fangasm mode. If you read my season four preview, you knew this was coming, and I can finally let out a breath I’ve been holding in for the past several months: Luna will not be turning into Nightmare Moon. Thank fucking God. As I predicted, the scene in question was showing Luna’s original corruption, not the return of Nightmare Moon. If this episode was a hint of anything in the future and the Mane 6 will be spending more time in Canterlot, that means we just might be seeing more of Luna (Luna is best pony). This pleases me to no end, but I’m mostly relieved that she’ll remain the younger Princess of the Night that I love so much.

Complaints? Eh. Not really. I would have liked a musical number, but I really can’t bitch about that when everything else was so amazing. Princess Twilight Sparkle part 1 and 2 have proven to me that season four is ready to wow us with a bang, and has solidified my status as a Brony (or Pegasister) for another season, at least.

Real quick, here’s an update to what exactly I’ve been up to as of late. I am in the middle of a huge article series of character analysis from Shingeki no Kyojin. As of now, only Eren and Mikasa are done, but these are characters I will be doing for sure: Armin, Jean, Sasha, Connie, Ymir, Christa, Bertholdt, Reiner, Annie and Levi. I’ll see how I’m feeling after they’re done. I might do the former Squad Levi and the Captains of the Survey Corps if I’m still up to it by that point. In addition, I have a few countdowns in production, including: top ten most annoying fandoms, top ten overrated video games, my top thirty Pokemon and my top ten Pokemon games. I also have a review of Shadow of the Colossus underway, and a rebuttal of a gen three Pokemon review that really pissed me off. So yeah, don’t worry guys. I’m still writing plenty of video game stuff.

Leave a Reply

