Idea For WWE 2K15: Day Of Reckoning Mode

day of reckoning

Whoa, long time, no write! I know, I know. I’m sorry that I’m such a slacker. To make up for it, I give you this, the first Happy Katana article of 2014.

I love wrestling. I don’t care if it’s “fake” or “scripted” or whatever, I love it. Professional wrestling has to be my all time favorite sport. As you can tell from the many gaming articles on Happy Katana, I love video games as well. I mean, I really love video games. When you mix the two together, you get wrestling games. And guess what? I love them, too.

One of my favorite wrestling games, as well as one of the most unique wrestling games, is WWE: Day Of Reckoning, which celebrates its 10th anniversary this year. The thing that really made Day Of Reckoning so awesome was its Story Mode. Unlike other wrestling games, Day Of Reckoning’s Story Mode actually forced you to use its Create-A-Wrestler feature. You see, you start out as a complete unknown who gets signed by WWE. It shows you rise through the ranks, starting in development, wrestling on Sunday Night Heat, and then deciding to join either Raw or SmackDown, embarking on a quest to become WWE or World Heavyweight Champion and ensuring the legacy of your wrestler. The sequel was good too, at least for the short time that I played it, but I always loved the rise through the ranks story mode of the original.

For a long time, I’ve been complaining about there never being a Day Of Reckoning 3. Then I realized, they could just incorporate a similar mode in one of the main WWE games. Remember that this year is the 15th anniversary of the main series. So why not celebrate both anniversaries? Kill two birds with one stone. Just imagine what they could do if they added a Day Of Reckoning rags to riches type story to one of the modern day wrestling games, with the huge amount of moves and customization that they offer nowadays, and with the advancements in technology, a much larger roster of wrestlers than the DOR titles to wrestle against.

Besides the aforementioned technological advancements that it would obviously benefit from, the different, mores realistic style of gameplay the 2K series would no doubt appeal to the purists. And unlike the original, which had a fake development territory and fake wrestlers, they could actually have you wrestling in NXT with actual NXT wrestlers. Then, you could start to wrestle on Superstars, Main Event, and occasionally Saturday Night Slam before eventually making it to Raw and SmackDown. Also, make it more non-linear than the original, with the choices you make affecting how the storyline plays out. Really, a Day Of Reckoning Mode wouldn’t just be cool, it’d be fucking awesome! Please, 2K, make this happen!

There you have it folks. There is my idea for a return to the Day Of Reckoning style of Story Mode in the next WWE game. Whether you agree or disagree, leave a comment and tell me what you think. Until next time, keep playing wrestling games, and hopefully in the future, they’ll bring back this awesome Story Mode.

About Mr. Awesome

Hey everyone, I'm Mr. Awesome.

4 thoughts on “Idea For WWE 2K15: Day Of Reckoning Mode

  1. Ron M. says:

    Yup! Day of Reckoning was a great wrestling game. I still have it but it won’t work anymore 😦 although Day of Reckoning 2 is still working and I actually just cleaned my GameCube and I have it set up now. All is good, and I’m playing it again!

  2. Eric Sledge says:

    WWE DAY OF RECKONING WRESTLEMANIA19 BOTH SPIRITUAL SUCCESORS TO WWF NO MERCY BOTH EXCELLENT TITLES IN A LOT OF WAYS WWE 12 PRETTY MUTCH IS DAY OF RECKONING 3 BUT WWE 2K15 HAS DAY OF RECKONING 2 STAMINA GAMEPLAY AND MY CARREEER SO IN MY HEART 12 AND 15 ARE RECKONING GAMES EVEN IF NOT TITLED AS SUTCH!

Leave a Reply

