Her (2013) Review

Her Poster

So, I promised a review of Her and that’s what you guys are getting. I’m gonna try and make this as short and sweet as possible but I won’t promise. So, here we go.

We start off the movie with a close-up shot of our main antagonist, Theodore (Joaquin Phoenix), doing his very surreal job of writing out letters with his voice for other people…Yeah…Kind of strange. Also, apparently, he’s the best at his job. What significance does this have on the movie? None, none at all. I just felt like mentioning it. Because…why the hell not.

So, the movie really starts when he goes to work the next day and sees that there is a new OS (Operating System) for his computer. Being a computer nerd, he must have it. The thing about this is new OS is that has a new A.I. (Artificial Intelligence) that is literally so smart that it basically creates a whole personality for itself. This is where the movie is said to get creepy. The A.I is so smart that it reads a baby book in “2 hundredths of a second” and chooses the name Samantha (Scarlett Johansson). This is where it is said to be creepy because Theodore and Samantha talk to each other like…real people! I know, it’s the scariest thing ever. Now I didn’t see this to be a creepy thing at all. Now, if you’re reading this and thinking it’s creepy that a man falls in love with his OS then…you will not like this movie.

The whole movie revolves around the relationship between Theodore and Samantha and it’s actually quite a beautiful thing. There are side plots and other “main” characters but I found those to be boring and not as interesting as the love story between man and technology. It may sound creepy but Spike Jonze’s amazing writing (which he won the Oscar for screenwriting) made it mesmerizing and really touching. But, even though the writing is absolutely amazing, the acting is where this movie really pulls through.

It’s really sad that Scarlett Johansson wasn’t eligible for an Oscar for Best Actress because her performance is really good. I’ve always though just doing a voice is a lot harder than acting. You have to put a lot of emotion in your voice when you’re doing voice acting because you can’t use your body to express emotions. (Psss…Academy, make a voice acting category. The Oscars needs it.) As I was saying, Johansson was amazing, Joaquin was fantastic and all the supporting actors, though I don’t think they were needed, were fantastic as well. Out of all the side characters, I’d have to say Amy Adams stands out. I’d say this is one of her better movies.

Putting all these factors together, I would have to say that Her is an absolute masterpiece and the best film of 2013 (right beside Gravity) and I recommend it to everyone. I give it 3.5 horny phones out of 4.

2 thoughts on “Her (2013) Review

  1. If you didn’t get the joke that Theodore works for the “beautiful handwritten letters” company, you missed the whole point of the movie. It’s a satire about how pathetic life is if it’s lived online instead of face-to-face.

    • theretron1 says:

      I understood the meaning of the job fine. I was saying that the point of him being “the best at his job” was unimportant. I guess I could have elaborated on that.

Leave a Reply

