Top 4 Albums of the First Quarter of 2014

Well here we are. A quarter of 2014 is already almost up. That also means a lot of music has already come out. I am a music junkie (yeah, I like all multi-media). So, without further-a-do, here is my Top 5 Albums of the First Quarter of 2014. (By the way, this is not in any specific order. It’s more of just a list than a top 4…) Also, it’s 4 albums instead of 5 because I really haven’t been following music that much this year. Since I’m starting to do this though I’m gonna try and follow it a lot more. I plan on doing this after each quarter this year. With that said, here’s the list.

1. Reflections – EP                                                                                                                                                                                                                     Misterwives

Reflections

I heard of these guys because their song “Reflections” was the Song of the Week on iTunes. This means you get that one song for free. I was instantly hooked on their music. If you’ve ever heard of Florence and the Machines then you will know what Misterwives sound like. It can be very surreal but at other times very fast and fun to listen to. If you want to listen to them I’d suggest the song “Twisted Tongues”. It’s a fabulous song. It’s very fast-paced and fun to sing along with. Here’s the video if you’d like to listen to it.

2. Lift Your Spirit                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Aloe Blacc

Lift Your Spirit

Never heard of this guy? Maybe you’ll remember him from the song Wake Me Up. Yeah, he was the guy singing in that song. Now, that may pull you away if you don’t like techno/dance music but this guy’s album is absolutely fantastic. It goes from the fun and lively “The Man” to the very dark and eerie sound of “Ticking Bomb” and then back to the fast and fun sound with “Lift Your Spirit”. If you’re a fan of pop/jazz then you’ll love this album. It’s of trumpets and trombones and choirs. It’ll make you want to sing and dance (and I’m not a dancing type guy). If you want to listen to one of his songs to try it out I’d suggest “Ticking Bomb”. It has become one of my favorite songs of the year. It’s errie tone just gets to me, you know. Here’s the video if you’d like to listen to it.

3. Morning Phase                                                                                                                                                                                                                  Beck

Beck-Morning-Phase1

Beck has been around since the 90’s but this was the first time I’d gotten to hear his music. From a little research, his past albums have always tried to be a sort-of Rock/Alternative feel and I don’t think it ever really worked (except for Sea Change. That album is amazing.) With his new album, Morning Phase, he just tried to go alternative/indie and it worked perfectly. This was one of the first critically-acclaimed albums of the year and I can see why. It has a very surreal (I know I keep saying that word. Sue me.) sound in every single song. Every song is very slow and sounds very dark and eerie (More words I keep using.). It’s actually really hard to explain the sound of the album so here’s my favorite song from it, “Say Goodbye”. Once you listen to this you’ll see why I say these things.

4. Is There Anybody Out There?                                                                                                                                                                                    A Great Big World

Is There Anybody Out There?

Another newbie band on the list (along with Misterwives). So what do these guys do? Well, these guys make a mix between pop/rock/alternative. I’m quite a fan of rock (only classic though) and alternative so this album was right up my alley. Now you may turned off once you hear they wrote the song Say Something (I personally love Say Something but I can see why a lot of people hate it. It’s a slow song so many people won’t like it.) but they have other great songs. The album kicks you in the face with up-beatness with the song “Rockstar” and “Land of Opportunity”. Then, it calms you down with a slower love song called “Already Home”. The song also has comedy with the songs “Everyone is Gay” and “Cheer Up!”. If you sound interested with any of the things I have listed then I would definitely check these guys out. My personal favorite song is “Land of Opportunity”. As with all the other songs, the link for the video is down below.

Also, yes I know this album technically came out in December but it didn’t get popular until January so…yeah.

So, there’s my list of the 4 best albums so far this year. If you feel like there were better albums this year then just voice it down below. Remember, this is technically my opinion so don’t be taking this as fact and getting pissed at me because you don’t agree. Just disagree with me in a friendly fashion down below and explain to me why you think I’m wrong. Maybe your suggestions will be better than what I have here. Okay, I think I’m done typing for the night. See you guys in my next article.

Leave a Reply

