Top 4 Albums of the Second Quarter of 2014

It’s been three months since I wrote “Top 4 Albums of the First Quarter of 2014”, so it’s time to write the next part. So, as like the last one, this all purely based on my opinions and my opinions alone. So, a couple rules.

1. It must have came out since the day this was posted and January 1 of this year, and only this year.

2. It can be an EP

3. It doesn’t have to be a hit album or come from a popular band

4. This can only be albums I have listened to (obviously)

So, with that said, let’s get on to the list. (P.S. These are not in a specific order.)

All This Bad Blood – Bastille

A1-2PolPmtL._SL1500_

This is personally one of my new favorite bands. They’re such a weird band, but a great one. This album is such a great showcase of their talent. They’re a very indie rock-sounding band and one of the best ones out there. The main singer (I’m too lazy to find out his actual name) has such a fascinating voice. I don’t know why but I’m just mesmerised by it.

The album is filled with upbeat tracks like Pompeii, Icarus, Weight of Living, Pt, 1&2. But, it also has some thought-provoking ones like Things We Lost In the FireDurban Skies, and What Would You Do. Seriously, I would sit there after listening to those songs and really think about them thoroughly. Not many songs do that. Hell, not a single FULL ALBUM has ever made me actually sit there and really think about the lyrics I was listening to. That shows how great the writing is in these songs.

Alright, time for me to share my favorite song from the album. It was between What Would You Do and Things We Lost In the Fire, but Things We Lost In the Fire won. Both made me think really hard and have great lyrics, but Things We Lost In the Fire made me think the hardest and I just found the most enjoyable to listen to.

Rating: 4.5 Albatrosses/5

2. The Colourist – The Colourist

callout-album

This is the debut album from the alternative band, The Colourist. This band…it’s kind of hard to describe. Seriously, I’ve sat here for a while trying to think of how to describe it but I’m having trouble. It seems simple since it sounds like any other pop-alternative band but for some reason I’m having so much trouble to describe them. But, saying they’re some plain ole’ pop-alternative band is an injustice. All their music is just so upbeat and fun to sing along with. Which takes me to…

Every song, beginning to end, is just so fun to listen to. The beat is fast and energetic and the singers (again, to lazy to look up names) are great singers and you can tell they are having fun singing these songs. Usually I’d go into more depth here but there isn’t much else to say. Their songs are energetic and upbeat…that’s about it.

So, favorite song from the album. This was actually a very easy choice. Out of all the songs, my favorite has to be Tonight (Young Hearts). It has to be the most upbeat song on the album and is just SO much fun to listen to. That songs makes me want to dance and sing a long everytime it plays on my iPhone.

Rating: 4 Young Hearts/5

Lights Out – Ingrid Michaelson

Ingrid-Michaelson-Lights-Out

Were’nt expecting that, were you?A pop album on my list? What am I doing?! Well, let me tell you, this isn’t just no plain jane pop album. Ingrid Michaelson is a great singer and she just writes some great songs. They go from upbeat songs to slow love songs that will really touch you.

Yeah, not the best segway, sue me. So as I said, this album has upbeat songs about forgetting a guy or breaking up with someone to slow songs about trying to forget about a guy and falling in love with him again or just falling in love with a guy. Yeah, I know, this sounds stale and cheesy but it really isn’t. Her vocals and the lyrics are just so perfect that it makes up for the blandness of it.

Alright, favorite song. Honestly, this was a hard choice for me. I literally love every song on here. So, I decided to do my favorite upbeat song and favorite slow song. Even that was hard.

So, my favorite upbeat song goes to Afterlife. It was either this, Warpath, or Time Machine. being a very close competition. But, frankly, I just like the lyrics and beat from Afterlife a lot better. Also, it’s not just about love, it’s about having fun and living it up…and also about a guy. But hey, not entirely.

So, favorite slow song was a lot easier to choose. Mostly since this album didn’t very many of them and just because one really stuck out to me. It is Over You (feat. A Great Big World). Ingrid’s vocals and A Great Big World’s vocals just mix so well and the lyrics and melody are just so beautiful. Honestly, I’ve listened to that song way more than a guy should.

Rating: 4.5 Rewinds/5

1. Whispers – Passenger

pasenger

This album literally just came out a week ago but I’ve listened to it a whole lot. I’m actually a huge fan of Passenger. I find his music to be relaxing, fun, and just great. I don’t care what you got to say about him, it’s my opinion and I’m gonna stick with it. Hell, his song Staring At the Stars was one of my favorites of 2012. Now, this album is 11 songs, which is about how long his albums usually are (unless you get the deluxe album), so not much to complain there. But, I do feel this album was a lot more weak than All The Little Lights was, which was a great album. It’s feel the lyrics in this album just aren’t as meaningful as they were in All The Little Lights, so it does lose some points there.

The music is still great though. It begins on a bad note with Coins In a Fountain. Seriously, I almost lost hope right in the first song. But, thankfully I kept listening and got to hear the wonderful 27, Bullets, Golden Leaves, Start a Fire, Riding To New York, and Scare Away the Dark. I am so glad I kept listening or I wouldn’t have heard those great songs.

Alright, favorite song. This one…this one was quite easy. It is, hands down, 27. It’s just so fun to listen to and gives you some insight into Passenger’s life, which is more entertaining than you think it is.

Rating: 3.5 Cigarettes/5

 

So, there was part two of my four parter article. I hope you enjoyed reading this! If you guys would like to discuss your favorite albums of the year, please do so in the comments below! I’d love to see what you guys have to say. Until next time.

One thought on “Top 4 Albums of the Second Quarter of 2014

  1. Lexi says:

    I love Bastille! these reviews were great thanks!

Leave a Reply

