Pokemon Review #6: Charizard

Charizard

Now we’re talking! Do I even have to explain what makes Charizard so great? Well, seeing as how this is a review, I guess I have to. There’s a small but vocal minority who believes that Charizard is overrated. He is not. Charizard is the shit. I don’t care what those people say, Charizard is one of the greatest Pokemon of all time. Everything about him is amazing.

I love Charizard’s design. First of all, his new wings are simply awesome. They add to Charizard’s draconian design, and they make him look quite intimidating. Then there’s his tail, which is much longer than his previous Evolutions. The flame at the end is also bigger, and once again, it looks awesome. I love his Mega Evolutions, too (I’ll explain why I haven’t reviewed any Megas when I’m finished reviewing all the Starters). I also love the cocky  look on his face. It’s like he’s saying “Yeah, I’m a badass, and Imma fuck your shit up. What are ya gonna do about it?”

Charizard in the anime is one of the most memorable Pokemon. Simply put, he’s a bigger dick than Charmeleon is. Seriously, he does not listen to a thing Ash tells him, and he has a complete and utter lack of respect for him. He certainly knocked Ash off his pedestal, that’s for sure. However, he has matured a lot over the series. After moving to the Charizard Valley, he grew a lot as a Pokemon. Any time Ash met up with him again, he had a lot more respect for him and grew to become a loyal companion, even if he was no longer Ash’s Pokemon.

There’s no other way to say it, Charizard is the perfect Starter. He has absolutely no flaws. Okay, so his stats aren’t as great as most people think, and according to Smogon, he’s the worst Gen 1 starter competitively. He also has a crippling 4x weakness to Rock, but screw that noise. Charizard is awesome in almost every way. There’s a reason so many people love him, even if some find him overrated. When it comes to Pokemon, it doesn’t get much better than this.

Grade: A+

About Mr. Awesome

Hey everyone, I'm Mr. Awesome.

2 thoughts on “Pokemon Review #6: Charizard

  1. straw_hat_samurai says:

    Hey there, it’s cool to see people inspired by my site! Thanks for reading.

    You seem to be doing pretty well for yourself over here, and I hope you can keep it up. I don’t know if I would’ve even started if I’d known there would be over 700 pokemon… the task just becomes more and more daunting.

    Also it’s a weird sort of deja-vu seeing similar opinions expressed in a similar format, but like 5 years later. Not that I’m telling you to stop, I’m just tripping on some major nostalgia hoodoo over here.

  2. What can I say? You’re right on this one. And don’t forget, Charizard was probably responsible for the “You don’t have enough badges to train me!” meme. I have a Charizard in my Heartgold that I gave a Smash Bros. Brawl moveset.

Leave a Reply

