Pokemon Review #1: Bulbasaur

Bulbasaur

Bulbasaur is the first Pokemon in the Pokedex, and what a great Pokemon to start out with. You know, I kinda feel bad for Bulbasaur, and really, all the Grass Starters. Generally speaking, the Grass Starters are ignored in favor of the Fire Starters or maybe the Water Starters. Thankfully, in Yellow, I didn’t have to feel sorry for Bulbasaur since you got all three Kanto Starters in the game. Hey Gamefreak, where’s my Pokemon Electric Yellow remake?

Pity aside, I really like the concept of Bulbasaur. Dinosaurs are awesome, and I love the concept of animal/plant hybrids (just ask the Pikmin, they’ll tell ya). Combine the two, and the result is great. The bulb on his back is a nice touch, especially when you see this little guy perform a freaking Solarbeam out of it. I also like his eyes. Adding red eyes to anything instantly makes it cooler. And c’mon, Bulbasaur is just adorable.

Another thing I like is that Ash’s Bulbasaur is a very caring and protective Pokemon, from protecting those Pokemon in the Hidden Village to soothing Togepi and calming him down in the first movie. I could totally imagine Bulbasaur being a great father some day. And you know what? That is really awesome.

Grade: A+

Leave a comment